Thursday 25th May, Sydney. NSW

A surfboard traction pad made from algae, the creators of the world’s first neoprene-free wetsuit line and an 11-time World Champion were among the winners announced at the Australian Surf Industry Awards today.

The Australian Surf and Boardsports Industry Association’s annual awards, which celebrate the high achievers of Australia’s multi-million dollar surf industry, attracted 200 retailers and brand representatives from across the country to the Crowne Plaza in Coogee, Sydney.

Thirty-one awards were up for grabs – ranging from state and national retail categories, to products and account managers – and a host of surfing legends, including former World Champions Mark Occhilupo, Tom Carroll and Joel Parkinson, helped present the trophies.

Another of surfing’s household names, 11-time World Champion Kelly Slater, was on the receiving end of two awards – his company Slater Designs winning Surfboard of the Year (for their Sci-Fi model) and Product Innovation Award for a traction pad made from algae.The Surfrider Foundation presented clothing and gear company Patagonia – which last year released the world’s first neoprene-free wetsuit line – with the Environmental Award, while also auctioning off images from internationally-renowned photographer Ray Collins to raise funds for its environmental projects.

The prestigious Service to the Industry Award went to Rip Curl’s legendary John ‘Sparrow’ Pyburne, who has incredibly designed the seminal Torquay surf company’s wetsuits since its inception in 1969.

Saltwater Wine | Stormriders won National Retailer of the Year for the third year running, while also taking out NSW Retailer of the Year. Sanbah (Merewether, NSW) won a new award for 2017, Breakout Retail of the Year, and also picked up the highly sought-after Coreboard Store of the Year. Rounding out the Retail Awards were Beaches Apparel (SA), BeachBeat (QLD), Strapper Surf | Blunt Skateboarding in (VIC/TAS) and Hillzeez (WA).

RVCA put an exclamation mark on an impressive 12 months by winning Men’s Brand of the Year, while Billabong took out Ladies Brand of the Year and both the Men’s and Ladies Marketing Campaigns of the Year. Otis’ ‘Young Blood’ model helped it win Sunglass of the Year for the second year running. Byron Bay clothing and accessories company Afends won the Breakout Brand Award, while Havaianas beat some tough competition to win Footwear Brand of the Year.

Rip Curl was the big winner in the product awards, with its 4/3 Chest Zip Flashbomb once again winning Wetsuit of the Year, and its Mirage MF Focus 21 taking home Boardshort of the Year. The Rip Curl team was called to the stage twice again after being awarded the Swimwear of the Year trophy and the Customer Service Office of the Year.


The 2017 Australian Surf Industry Awards were sponsored by Tyro (Retail Awards), Brandscope (Retail Awards), Davidsons Business Advisors (Environment Award), Australian Surf Business magazine (Service Awards), Coastalwatch and Surfing World (Brand Awards), POPAI (Marketing Awards), Stryker Media and Surfing Australia.

The Australian Surf Industry Awards have been held annually since 2011 to celebrate the industry’s outstanding retailers, products and brands. Entries to the 31 categories open each January, with the award winners crowned after voting by manufacturers, retailers and an expert marketing panel. For more information visit



Winners Runners Up
2017 Ladies Marketing Campaign of the Year Billabong- A Bikini Kinda Life Volcom – Caught Up In A Good Thing
2017 Mens Marketing Campaign of the Year Billabong- Life’s Better In Boardshorts RVCA – Inspired By…
2017 Shop Fit Out of the Year Nixon- Bondi Junction Strapper Surf, Aireys Inlet.
2017 Environment Award Patagonia- Double Down Firewire – TimberTek (Eco Board Gold Level Certification)
2017 Product Innovation Award Slater Designs- Algae Traction Pad Oakley – Prizm Lens Technology
2017 SA/NT Retailer of the Year Beaches Apparel JR’s Surf & Ski
2017 VIC/TAS Retailer of the Year Strapper Surf | Blunt Skateboarding Co Red Herring Surf
2017 WA Retailer of the Year Hillzeez Clearwater Surf
2017 QLD Retailer of the Year Beach Beat Freetime Surf
2017 NSW Retailer of the Year Saltwater Wine | Stormriders Sanbah
2017 Account Manager of the Year – SA/NT Will Mills- Will Mills Agency Travis Ochota – Bishop Agencies
2017 Account Manager of the Year – VIC/TAS Lahnee Firth- Roxy Lachlan McDonald – Oakley
2017 Account Manager of the Year – WA Kerry Whitford- Rip Curl Brad Fraser – Creatures of Leisure/Otis
2017 Account Manager of the Year – QLD Jess Hitchcock- Roxy Bryan Balthazaar – Quiksilver
2017 Account Manager of the Year – NSW Jodie Watson- Rip Curl Nathan Marsh – The Leisure Collective
2017 Sales and Customer Service Office of the Year Rip Curl Head Office Creatures of Leisure /Otis Head Office
2017 Service To The Industry Sparrow
2017 Sunglass of the Year Otis- Youngblood Oakley – Holbrook
2017 Wetsuit of the Year Rip Curl- Flashbomb Chest Zip Wetsuit Vissla – 7 Seas
2017 Surfing Accessory of the Year Creatures- Triple Shortboard Cover Rip Curl – F-Light Global Stacka Travel Bag
2017 Boardshort of the Year Rip Curl- Mirage MF Focus Billabong – Tribong
2017 Surfboard of the Year Slater Designs- Sci-Fi JS Industries – HYFI Monsta box
2017 Breakout Retailer of the Year Sanbah Board Store
2017 Core Boardstore of the Year Sanbah Aloha Surf
2017 Australian Retailer of the Year Saltwater Wine | Stormriders Beaches Apparel
2017 Footwear Brand of the Year Havaianas Reef
2017 Swimwear Brand of the Year Rip Curl Billabong
2017 Breakout Brand of the Year Afends Creatures of Leisure
2017 Ladies Brand of the Year Billabong Rip Curl
2017 Mens Brand of the Year RVCA Billabong