Service to the Industry Award is an integral part of the Australian Surf Industry Awards. It is about recognising those who have made a significant and substantial contribution to the Australian Surf Industry.

To nominate who you believe a worthy recipient for the 2022 Service Of The Industry Award, please email our Executive Officer, Lyndall Browning on

Here you will find the honour roll for this prestigious award.


Layne Beachley

Layne Beachley is a former professional surfer from Manly, New South Wales. She won the World Championship seven times. Currently she is the chair of Surfing Australia. Layne has many accolades to her name such as being inducted into the Australian and US surfing halls of fame, being appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia for distinguished service to the community through support for a range of charitable organisations, as a mentor for women in sport, and to surfing as a world champion competitor, as well as countless medals and trophies. Layne was recognised for SBIA’s Service to the Industry Award for her continued dedication to the surfing industry, unwavering leadership skills and genuine passion for the industry and its people.


Dougall Walker

Industry Stalwart, Dougall Walker was recognised for his service across the boardsports industry, as a competitive surfer, industry executive with Billabong and Volcom and as a mentor for upcoming generations.



Simon Anderson

Simon Anderson, surfboard shaper extraordinaire and inventor of the three-fin thruster design was recognised with the prestigious ‘Service to the Industry Award’. On hand to present the Award was World Masters Champion Rob Bain and industry veteran, Dougall Walker.


John Pyburne 

Sparrow as he’s better known as has been at the forefront of wetsuit design and development since first working with Rip Curl in 1970. Rip Curl’s wetsuit designer and developer,  Sparrow has been with the company since the first wetsuit was made in 1970 designing wetsuits for multiple world champions over the past 4 decades. Experience an understatement as the ins and outs of the wetsuit game more so than anyone else on the planet. From the first use of basic neoprene to eventually incorporating modern day technologies like Rip Curl’s neoprene, heating systems and taped seals, Sparrow has been there for it all.


Mark Richards 

When Mark Richards was inducted into the Australian Sporting Hall of Fame they described him as both “the man whose records Kelly Slater broke” and “the greatest surfer of all time”. To Australian surfers, MR, is an Australian icon who’s style and innovation shaped the sport to what it is today. His 4 world titles have cemented his spot as one of Australia’s best surfers and athletes. Still sur ng today he has now turned his energy into shaping and creating his iconic MR Surfboards from his home in Newcastle. We congratulate MR for his outstanding service and recognise him with the 2016 Service to the Industry Award.


Recognised for all the work they do at a grass roots level for Australian surfing.

Surfing Australia


Respecting what the Surf Industry is all about… The Surfboard. Australia’s earliest and longest servicing Surfboard Blank Manufacturers:

Don BurfordBurford Blanks
Midget FarrellySurfblanks Australia
Barry BennettBennett Surfboards


Founders of Quiksilver, Billabong and Rip Curl:

Alan GreenQuiksilver
John LawQuiksilver
Gordon MerchantBillabong
Brian SingerRip Curl
Doug WarbrickRip Curl


Anthony Wilson

Founding President of SBIA (Previously SRF). Owner of Wilson Retail, Saltwater Wine | Stormriders