Australia’s top retailers have been crowned today at the Australian Retailers Association’s (ARA) 2017 eftpos Australian Retail Awards, with Wilson Retail (Saltwater Wine | Stormriders) being inducted in the ARA’s Hall of Fame.

In an exceptional field of remarkable retailers, Officeworks have grown into Australia’s largest supplier of office and stationery products. As a true category-killer, this outstanding retailer has climbed to the pinnacle of the industry, dominating the $12 billion market sector.

With this prestigious award being the hardest on record to judge, the ARA reimagined the 2017 selection process to ensure this year’s methodology was not only credible but intellectually sound.

Russell Zimmerman, ARA Executive Director, said the unique process included three pillars of in-depth research to determine the 2017 Retailer of the Year Award.

“As the retail industry’s peak representative body, it is important that we recognise and celebrate these remarkable retailers’ success on the national stage that is the 2017 eftpos ARA Australian Retail Awards,” Mr Zimmerman said.

“The exceptionally high standard of submissions we received this year was a profound reminder of the vibrant passion that encapsulates the retail industry.”

eftpos Managing Director, Bruce Mansfield, said eftpos was proud to support the awards because they recognised the extraordinary work done by the hundreds of thousands of retailers who serve Australian communities every single day.

“Retail is an exceptionally important industry because it impacts all of our daily lives,” Mr Mansfield said.

“With the rise of international marketplaces, mobile platforms and the dynamic needs of modern shoppers, it will be extraordinary Australian retailers who continue to thrive in the shifting retail landscape.”

This year’s breakfast event was held at the National Gallery of Victoria where Radek Sali of Swisse also entertained the 550 guests by sharing his retail success as keynote speaker.

With 10 awards up for grabs at the Awards breakfast, the 2017 winners stood out from the retail crowd in each of their categories.

Mr Zimmerman said the overarching lesson from this year’s winners is both profound and powerful as the high standard of submissions and the quality of entries to the 2017 eftpos ARA Australian Retail Awards proved the retail sector’s strength and resilience.

“The future prosperity of the Australian industry doesn’t lie in the challenges themselves, it lies in how we choose to embrace them to move retail forward.”

2017 eftpos ARA Australian Retail Awards Winners

eftpos Retailer of the Year

WINNER: Officeworks 
Runners up: Dan Murphy’s, Bunnings Warehouse, JB HiFi, ALDI Australia, IKEA

eftpos Independent Retailer of the Year

WINNER: The Party People

Runner up: Nimble Activewear

Frontline Retail Employer of the Year

WINNER: ALDI Australia

Runner up: Peregrine Corporation

Pronto Software Retail Disruptor of the Year

WINNER: Airbnb Australia

Runner up: Crust Gourmet Pizza Bar

Temando Omni-channel Retailer of the Year

 Runner up: PETstock

Shop-for-Shops Retail Store Fit-out of the Year 1-5 Store

WINNER: Nimble Activewear

Runner up: LUC Homewares and Design

Shop-for-Shops Retail Store Fit-out of the Year 6+ Store

WINNER: Readings Doncaster & Readings Kids

Runner up: Amart Furniture

REST Industry Super Individual Retailer of the Year

WINNER: Dean Salakas, The Party People

Runner up: Kelsey Subritsky, Pandora

The Realise Group People’s Choice Award


Runner up: Bunnings Warehouse

ARA Retail Institute Corporate Social Responsibility Award

WINNER: Hill Street

FCB Group Retail HR Rising Star of the Year

WINNER: Shalysse Romer, Hugo Boss

2017 ARA Retail Hall of Fame Award

WINNER: Wilson Retail

Visit for more information about the awards.