The Surf and Boardsports Industry’s leading brands, products and retailers were recognised for their outstanding achievements in front of over 200 industry retailers and brand executives at last nights’ SBIA Banquet and Awards.

Held at the Crowne Plaza, Coogee Beach, 27 of the SBIA signature trophies were handed out by surfing legends Joel Parkinson, Ozzie Wright and Rob Bain. Awards categories covered revolutionary new products, inspirational marketing campaigns, environmental advocates, the industry’s best retailers and account managers.

Billabong and Rip Curl took out the top gongs of Ladies and Men’s Brand of the Year respectively. Rip Curl also picked up Boardshort of the Year and Wetsuit of the Year while Billabong picked up both Mens and Ladies Marketing Campaign awards making it another big year for both brands.

Another big winner on the night was Reef, taking out Footwear Brand of the Year and Breakout Brand of the Year.

This year’s Environmental Award, presented by Surfrider Foundation, was awarded to Vissla for their campaign which raises awareness for ocean-related environmental stewardship.

The top gong of Australian Retailer of the Year went to Coopers Surf (Coffs Harbour, NSW) for Multi Store and Corner Surf Shop (Geraldton, WA) for Single Store Retailer of the year.

Surf Culture Bondi took out the coveted Core Boardstore of the Year and Newcastle’s Sanbah Surf recognised with the Breakout Retailer of the Year award.

The all important Surfboard of the Year was taken out by JS Industries Monsta Box Surfboard.

FCS’s revolutionary Freedom Leash took out the judged category of Product Innovation as well as Surf Accessory of the Year while OTIS Eyewear won Sunglass of the year for the third year straight!

The highlight of the night was Simon Anderson, surfboard shaper extraordinaire and inventor of the three-fin thruster design was recognised with the prestigious ‘Service to the Industry Award’. On hand to present the Award was World Masters Champion Rob Bain and Industry veteran Dougall Walker.

The night also raised over $3000 for Surfrider Foundation with auction items, an Ozzie Wright ‘work of art’ surfboard donated by the team at Volcom and a limited edition Simon Anderson print from the guys at Onboard Industries, going under the hammer!

The 2018 Australian Surf Industry Awards were sponsored Brandscope (Retail Awards), Surfrider Foundation (Environment Award), Australian Surf Business magazine (Service Awards), Coastalwatch and Surfing World (Brand Awards), Shop! (Marketing Awards), Australian Retailers Association, Stryker Media, Davidsons Business Advisors, Philter Brewing and Surfing Australia.

The Australian Surf Industry Awards have been held annually since 2011 to celebrate the industry’s outstanding retailers, products, brands and contributors. Entries to the 27 categories opened in August this year, with the award winners of the voted categories crowned after voting by manufacturers and retailers.  Winners of the judged categories were awarded after assessment from expert marketing, retail, architecture and environmental panels.

Summary of Winners and Runners Up



Sales and Customer Service Office of the Year:

WINNER: Rip Curl Customer Service Office –  Torquay, VIC

RUNNER UP: Boardriders Customer Service – Torquay, VIC


NSW Account Manager of the Year:

WINNER : Nathan Marsh: Creatures of Leisure / Otis

RUNNER UP: Bruce Turner (Carv’n Co): Billabong


VIC/TAS Account Manager of the Year:

WINNER: Josh Grimshaw: Quiksilver

RUNNER UP: Lahnee Firth: Roxy


QLD Account Manager of the Year:

WINNER: Bryan Balthazaar: Quiksilver

RUNNER UP: Sean Finlay: Rip Curl


SA/NT Account Manager of the Year:

WINNER : Will Mills (Will Mills Agency):  (Hurley / Electric)

RUNNER UP: Ryan Anderson (Instant Agencies): Creatures of Leisure / Otis


WA Account Manager of the Year:

WINNER: Kerry Whitford: Rip Curl

RUNNER UP: Marty Farrow: Quiksilver


Boardshort of the Year:

WINNER: Rip Curl: Mirage Conner Surge Boardshort

RUNNER UP: Quiksilver: Men’s Highline New Wave Boardshort


Wetsuit of the Year:

WINNER: Rip Curl: Flashbomb Chest Zip

RUNNER UP : O’Neill: Men’s Psycho 1


Surfboard of the Year :

WINNER : JS: Monsta Box

RUNNER UP: Firewire: Go Fish


Surfing Accessory of the Year:

WINNER: FCS: Freedom Leash

RUNNER UP : Rip Curl: F-Light Posse Backpack


Sunglass Style of the Year:

WINNER : Otis Eyewear: After Dark

RUNNER UP: Oakley: Oakley Holbrook


Footwear Brand of the Year:


RUNNER UP: Havaianas


Swimwear Brand of the Year:

WINNER : Rip Curl

RUNNER UP: Billabong


Ladies Brand of the Year:

WINNER: Billabong



Men’s Brand of the Year

WINNER: Rip Curl

RUNNER UP: Quiksilver


Breakout Brand of the Year




Core Board Store of the Year

WINNER: Surf Culture: Bondi

RUNNER UP : Kirra Surf: Kirra




Ladies Marketing Campaign of the Year

WINNER: Billabong | A Bikini Kinda Life

RUNNER UP: Roxy | Make Waves, Move Mountains


Men’s Marketing Campaign of the Year

WINNER: Billabong | Life’s Better in Boardshorts

RUNNER UP: Dragon | The Baile Campaign

RUNNER UP: Quiksilver | Generations of Quiksilver


Retail Digital Marketing Campaign of the Year

WINNER: The Central Surf Style Surf Gifts

RUNNER UP : Sanbah


Product Innovation

WINNER: FCS | FCS Freedom Leash

RUNNER UP: Boomerangz Footwear | Boomerangz Interchangeable Thongs


Environment Award

WINNER : Vissla



Shop Fit Out of the Year

WINNER: Stormriders Tamworth



Australian Breakout Retailer of the Year

WINNER: Sanbah

RUNNER UP: Strapper Surf


Australian Retailer of the Year – Single Door

WINNER: Corner Surf Shop

RUNNER UP: Saltbush Surf


Australian Retailer of the Year – Multi Door

WINNER: Coopers Surf

RUNNER UP: Strapper Surf